The Treaty of Waitangi

The Treaty of Waitangi – a key founding document of New Zealand – was signed by over 500 Māori chiefs and representatives of the British Crown on 6th February 1840.

There are two versions of the Treaty – English and Māori texts – but the different perspectives between the two versions continue to be debated.

Treaty partnership principles

Treaty principles were developed to ensure modern law reflects the treaty’s intention of a partnership between the Crown, chiefs and tribes. The Waitangi Tribunal investigates claims by Māori who may have been prejudiced by laws, regulations, acts, omissions, policies, or practices by the Crown that are inconsistent with the principles of the Treaty of Waitangi.

Read more about the Treaty of Waitangi on the New Zealand History website.

The Waitangi Tribunal - Ministry of Justice

Treaty settlements

The Office of Treaty Settlements manages the negotiation of Treaty settlements for the Government. Previous settlements between Māori groups and the Crown have included financial redress, and the return of lands and other assets such as sites of significance or forestry assets. Settlement assets can include commercial investments and dividends used to provide education, social, economic, and cultural outcomes for the settlement group. 

A governance entity is responsible for managing settlement properties and assets for the benefit of the community on behalf of the beneficiaries.

The Office of Treaty Settlements - Ministry of Justice

Last updated:
Find this helpful? Give us your feedback